مشاريع

بوّابات نحو المستقبل - برنامج المنح الدراسيّة

أطلق صندوق الناصرة مشروع "بوّابات نحو المستقبل" - برنامج المنح الدراسيّة عام 2008 لمساعدة طلاب المدينة على تكملة تعليمهم الأكاديمي في الكليات والجامعات المحليّة. ويحصل كل عام عشرون طالبا على منحة دراسية تغطي تكاليف القسط الجامعي بقيمة 2,500 $.

يتم اختيار الطلاب بحسب معايير وضعها صندوق الناصرة، مع التركيز على الوضع الاقتصادي. ويدعم البرنامج الطلاب ويمكنهم من متابعة تعليمهم الأكاديمي بواسطة دعمهم ماليّا. بالمقابل، يتوقع الصندوق أن يقوم الخريجون بالاستثمار العائد في مجتمعهم بواسطة برامج تطوّعية لمساعدة طلاب المدارس الثانوية، وأن يحافظوا على معدّل تحصيل أكاديمي جيّد أثناء دراستهم، وأن يتبرعوا للصندوق ماليا عند خروجهم إلى سوق العمل وذلك بهدف متابعة مساعدة الطلاب ذوي الحاجة.

يعتمد تمويل البرنامج بشكل أساسي على صندوق الناصرة ودعم جمعية عائلة إيرفين وبيثا جرين. ومن الداعمين الكبار الذين يحافظون على استمرارية توزيع المنح، السادة أحمد عفيفي، بديع طنوس، غسان عوض من لاس فيجاس، ألك غورس من لوس أنجلس، نك خوري من تكساس، جمعية ل. مانديل و هـ.مادلين بيرمان، بنك العمال، وعدد من الأشخاص المهتمين والشركات والمؤسسات والجمعيات.

بلغت ميزانية برنامج "بوّابات نحو المستقبل" للسنة 2012-2011 مبلغ $215,000.

كان هدف البرنامج، خلال السنوات الأربع الأولى، أن يصل إلى 80 طالبا سنويا، ولكن، وبسبب الظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة، فقد عُدّل الهدف ليصل إلى 350 طالبا سنويا، مع ميزانية سنوية تبلغ $900,000.

Projects

"Gates to the Future" Scholarships Program

The Nazareth Fund launched the "Gates to the Future" scholarships fund in 2008 to help students of the city continue their higher education at local colleges and universities. Twenty students a year receive scholarships which cover the $2,500 university fee.

The students are selected according to criteria set by the Fund, with a focus on their economic status. The Fund empowers the students and provides them with the financial support needed until they graduate. In return, the Fund expects the graduates to invest back in society through volunteer work with high school students, maintain a good academic record in their studies, and donate back to the Fund when they start working in order to help other needy students.

The main budgeting sources of the program rely on The Nazareth Fund and The Irwin and Bethea Green Family Foundation support. Other major donators who guarantee the continuity of the program are the Nazarenes Mr. Ahmad Afifi and Mr. Badie' Tannous, Mr. Ghassan Awad from Las Vegas, Mandell L. and Madeleine H. Berman Foundation, Mr. Alec Gores from Los Angeles, Mr. Nick Khoury from Texas, Bank Hapoalim and many other caring people, firms and corporations.

The budget of the Gates to the Future program in 2011-2012 totalled $215,000.

The goal of the first four years is to reach 80 students a year. However, due to the dire economic status of many, the project aims at reaching 350 students a year, with am annual budget of $900,000.